## SELLE - SAMUELS COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES TUESDAY, DECEMBER 18, 2018

**CALL TO ORDER:** The Selle-Samuels Committee meeting was called to order at 3:04 p.m. on Tuesday, December 18, 2018 in the 1<sup>st</sup> floor conference room, of the Administration Building, located at 1500 Hwy 2, Sandpoint, Idaho.

Vice Chair Pope addressed the committee regarding proper conduct stating as members of the committee there is an expectation to give input and dialog in a respectful and courteous manner. He said it is okay to question things but not okay to be argumentative. He continued stating if he sees misconduct occurring the individual will receive a warning. If the misconduct continues they will be told they are out of order and shut down. If misconduct continues further from the same individual the committee will consider sanctions.

Susen Fay asked if his statements were based on Robert's Rules. Mr. Pope confirmed they were.

**COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT**: Vice Chair Charles Pope, Tom Cleveland, John Malloy, Louis Kins, Susen Fay, Alison Burnett, Betty Anderson, Brian Wood, and Diane Wheeler

**COMMITTEE MEMBERS ABSENT:** Chair Fred Omodt and Daniel Vaniman

**STAFF PRESENT**: Planning Director Milton Ollerton; Floodplain Manager Jason Johnson; and Permit Technician Amanda DeLima; Office Manager Jeannie Welter was in attendance for the first 15 minutes of the meeting.

CITIZENS PRESENT: Planning & Zoning Commission Chair Don Davis, Bonner County Commissioner Dan McDonald, P&Z Commissioner Matt Linscott, Sagle Sub-area Committee member Mark Linscott

## **APPROVAL OF MINUTES:**

**October 16, 2018.** Vice Chair Pope asked if the committee had a chance to review the minutes for the October meeting. Susen Fay moved to amend the minutes under policy striking the words "The group agreed to strike No." Diane Wheeler seconded the motion. Voted upon and the motion carried unanimously. Betty Anderson moved to accept the minutes from October 16, 2018. Brian Wood seconded the motion. Voted upon and the minutes were passed as amended.

**November 20, 2018** Diane Wheeler moved to add Commissioner McDonald and Commissioner Matt Linscott to the list of people present. Susen Fay seconded the motion. Voted upon and the motion passed.

John Malloy asked for clarification regarding the motion and the vote stating he believes the motion didn't match what the Vice Chair stated the vote was for as the Vice Chair presented the motion as adding the names of any public who comments.

Mr. Malloy further clarified the motion stating the minutes will read: moved that any person that makes a comment will be included in the minutes. Vice Chair Pope confirmed with a yes.

Staff asked for further clarification as to where the committee would like the name of the public to appear, ie., at the top with the staff and committee members names or in the body of the minutes.

The motion was restated as follows: Susen Fay moved that any person who comments and is a public official with a title, their name and title be placed at the top of the minutes. Diane Wheeler seconded the motion. Voted upon and the motion passed unanimously.

Diane Wheeler moved to limit the minutes to the actions taken. Susen Fay seconded the motion. Voted upon and the motion passed.

Vice Chair Pope stated the November minutes were being tabled until the next meeting.

## **GROUP DISCUSSION:**

Don Davis addressed the committee regarding what they are charged to do within this committee. He presented the Idaho State code regarding the elements of the comprehensive plan. He better defined their role and the process.

Diane Wheeler asked if it is legal for a Planning & Zoning commissioner to attend the meetings. Mr. Davis stated anyone can attend the meetings.

Charles Pope asked about the bylaws of this committee. Director Ollerton stated the P&Z commission will be finalizing these bylaws in January.

There was some discussion regarding Commissioner McDonald making statements during the meeting.

Tom Cleveland moved to strike the presentation of the tiny home compound from the agenda. John Malloy seconded the motion. Voted upon and the motion failed 4-5.

## Roll call vote

Tom Cleveland	AYE
John Malloy	AYE
Louis Kins	AYE
Susen Fay	NAY
Alison Burnett	AYE
Betty Anderson	NAY
Brian Wood	NAY
Diane Wheeler	NAY

Vice Chair Charles Pope stepped down from the chair and voted NAY

There was further discussion regarding whether this specific information should be heard at the meeting. The Chair determined this was specific to a case that would be coming before the

Commissioners. Commissioners Don Davis, Matt Linscott, and Dan McDonald vacated the room.

Rich Gendreau spoke on the record regarding the "tiny house compound".

The committee discussed doing analysis and the possibility of having different agencies come to the meetings.

Vice Chair Pope moved to adjourn the meeting. Tom Cleveland seconded the motion. Voted upon and the motion passed.

Next meeting - Tuesday, January 15, 2018

The meeting adjourned at 5:03 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Milton Ollerton, Planning Director

The above Minutes are hereby approved this 15<sup>th</sup> day of January, 2019.

Selle-Samuels Area Plan Committee

CRPOPE FI, Co-CLAIR
CRPOPE

Fred Omodt, Chairman